JD(S) may pick Bangarappa kin | Deccan Chronicle
Friday, Nov 27, 2015 | Last Update : 03:41 PM IST
Fajar: 5.08 am 
Zohar: 12.13 pm 
Asar: 4.16 pm 
Maghrib: 5.59 pm  
Isha: 7.07 pm


You are here

JD(S) may pick Bangarappa kin

DC | Vinay Madhav | 26th Sep 2013
Late S. Bangarappa with son Madhu, a top contender for the post of JD(S) legislature party chief whip.
Late S. Bangarappa with son Madhu, a top contender for the post of JD(S) legislature party chief whip.

Bengaluru: With their sights set firmly on next year’s general elections, leaders of the state unit of Janata Dal (S) have decided to field the kin of the late chief minister S Bangarappa in Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency. 

The leaders are keen to pick either Shakuntala Bangarappa or her daughter Geetha Shivaraj Kumar. Though Shakuntala Bangarappa seems reluctant to contest and would rather that one of her daughters enter the fray, Madhu Bangarappa would try to convince her ahead of the polls. In case she does not relent, Geetha Shivaraj Kumar would be the alternative, sources in Dal (S) told Deccan Chronicle.

The sources said about 15 Lok Sabha constituencies have been identified by leaders as potential winnable seats. They include Bidar, Raichur, Shimoga, Uttara Kannada, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Chikballapur, Kolar, Bengaluru (North), Bengaluru (Rural), Mandya, Mysore, Hassan and Bijapur.

In Bidar, former legislator Bandeppa Kashyampur would be the party candidate, while former minister Raju Gowda aka Raja Narasimha Naik would contest from Raichur constituency.

On the other hand, Madhu Bangarappa, who would play a major role in organising backward class’ votes, specially those of Idiga community in Malnad and coastal districts, would be in charge of Shimoga and Uttar Kannada districts though the party has not finalized the candidate for Kanara constituency.

The sources said while party supremo H.D. Deve Gowda would lead the campaign in Bengaluru (Rural), Mandya, Mysore and Hassan, state president A Krishnappa would be given the  responsibility of Chitradurga, Chikballapur, Kolar, Tumkur and Bengaluru (North).



Related articles

Write a comment
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.