Race for VTU V-C’s post hots up | Deccan Chronicle
Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 | Last Update : 05:07 PM IST
Fajar: 5.08 am 
Zohar: 12.13 pm 
Asar: 4.16 pm 
Maghrib: 5.59 pm  
Isha: 7.07 pm


You are here

Race for VTU V-C’s post hots up

DC | 18th Jun 2013

Belgaum: With the term of  the vice chancellor of  Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU), Dr H Maheshappa  coming to an end on June 30, several top educationists of various institutions are believed to be  lobbying hard for the post.

The search committee for the new vice chancellor is expected to meet at the office of Governor H.R. Bharadwaj by the end of June to shortlist the probable candidates.   Some of the noted educationists in the race are former registrar of VTU, Prof M.S. Shivakumar, Prof Syed Shakibur-Rahman of the Sri Jayachamarajendra College of Engineering, Mysore and vice-chancellor of Tumkur University, Dr S.C. Sharma.

Professors Shivakumar and  Shakibur-Rahman were among the  probables  the last time, but Dr Maheshappa pipped them to the post. This time they are thought to be favourites for the post as both have vast experience in the field of technical education. According to sources, Dr Maheshappa is hoping for a year’s extension but the state government is against it due to the allegations levelled against him last year.

The government is believed to be keen on having a professor with clean track record as the next VC.  The VTU's executive council is expected to meet soon to select two members for the search committee. One member of the search committee will be selected by the government and the Governor within the next two weeks.  The member selected by the Governor will be made chairman. 



Related articles

Write a comment
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.