Indian squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2013 to be named today | Deccan Chronicle
Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 | Last Update : 05:07 PM IST
Fajar: 5.08 am 
Zohar: 12.13 pm 
Asar: 4.16 pm 
Maghrib: 5.59 pm  
Isha: 7.07 pm


You are here

Indian squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2013 to be named today

DC CORRESPONDENT | 04th May 2013
Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan, apart from Gautam Gambhir and Unmukt Chand is in the running for the opener's berth for the Indians squad for the ICC Champions Trophy. (Photo Courtesy: PTI)

New Delhi: The Sandeep Patil-led selection committee will meet in Mumbai on Saturday to name India’s 15-member squad for the Champions Trophy to be held in England and Wales from June 6 to 23.

It will be interesting to see if the selectors tweak the probables’ list to include names who have done well in the Indian Premier League or will restrict themselves to pick the squad from the 30 players they had named on April 6, The ICC rules allow the selection panel the option to choose players from outside the probables’ list announced earlier.

The two biggest exclusions from the probables, opener Virender Sehwag and off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, are unlikely to make the cut unless the selectors choose to spring a surprise by reposing faith in either or both, whose careers have clearly been on decline in recent times. Sehwag's state mates Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand and Shikhar Dhawan apart from Murali Vijay are in the running for the three possible berths for openers while Harbhajan has competition from the quintet of Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jalaj Saxena and Parveez Rassol for the spinners' slot. While Ashwin and Jadeja are likely to make it to the squad, Mishra, who has impressed one and all with his heroics in IPL 2013 thus far could get a look in. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is all set to retain the captaincy as he prepares to have a shot at a third world title for India after the World Cup and the T20 Worlds.


Related articles

Write a comment
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.