South Central Railway gets many projects in Railway Budget 2013 | Deccan Chronicle
Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 | Last Update : 05:07 PM IST
Fajar: 5.08 am 
Zohar: 12.13 pm 
Asar: 4.16 pm 
Maghrib: 5.59 pm  
Isha: 7.07 pm


You are here

South Central Railway gets many projects in Railway Budget 2013

Agencies | 26th Feb 2013
Scene from a rail track at the Secunderabad railway station in Hyderabad.
Scene from a rail track at the Secunderabad railway station in Hyderabad.


Hyderabad: The South Central Railway, especially Andhra Pradesh, got a good share of projects during the Railway Budget 2013-14 presented by Railways Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal in the Parliament on Tuesday.

The major announcements that would benefit the South Central Railways include, setting up of a Coach Mid-Life Rehabilitation (MLR) Workshop at Kurnool in collaboration with the State Government, setting up of an exclusive centralized institute for the Finance officers at Secunderabad - Indian Railways Institute of Financial Management (IRIFM), setting up of a Rail Neer Bottling Plant at Vijayawada and imparting skills to the youth in Railway related trades at Kazipet under the National Skill Development Programme.

The New Line Projects, to be taken up on Socio-Economic consideration after obtaining necessary approvals/clearances include Cumbum-Proddatur, Kondapalli-Kothagudem, Manuguru-Ramagundam and Srinivasapuram-Madanpalli.

The New Lines to be completed in 2012-13 are Devarakadra-Krishna (Part), Gulbarga-Sultanpur, Marikel-Makhtal and Raichur-Pandurangaswamy (Part). The New Lines to be completed in 2013-14 are Kadapa-Pendlamarri and Mortad-Armoor-Nizamabad.

The New Line Surveys to be taken up during 2013-14 are Dornakal-Miryalguda, Mancherail-Adilabad via Utnoor, Siddipet-Akkanapet and Washim-Mahur-Adilabad. The Doubling Surveys to be taken up during 2013-14 are Dharmavaram-Pakala, Mahbubnagar-Gooty, Parbhani-Manmad, Secunderabad-Mudkhed-Adilabad and Tirupati-Katpadi.

According to the SCR, the Doubling Works to be completed in 2012-13 are Esivi-Kupgal, Kosgi-Mantralayam, Manchiriyal-Mandamari and Venkatachalam-Nidiguntapalem. The Doubling Works to be completed in 2013-14 are Nidiguntapalem-Krishnapatna and Raghavapuram-Peddampet.

The Sections to be electrified in 2012-13 are Kondapuram-Vemulpadu and Gooty-Taticherala.

As many as eight new trains services will be introduced. The Originating Express Trains are Chennai – Nagarsol (For Sai Nagar Shirdi) Express (Weekly) Via Renigunta, Dhone, Kacheguda; Kakinada – Mumbai Express (Bi-weekly); Kurnool Town – Secunderabad Express (Daily); Mangalore – Kacheguda Express (Weekly) Via Dhone, Gooty, Renigunta, Coimbatore; Nizamabad – Lokmanya Tilak (T) Express (Weekly); Tirupati – Puducherry Express (Weekly); Tirupati – Bhubaneswar Express (Weekly) Via Visakhapatnam and Una / Nangaldam– Hazoor Saheb Nanded Express (Weekly)Via Anandpur Saheb, Morinda, Chandigarh, Ambala.

Further, there will three Originating Passenger Trains from Nandyal – Kurnool Town Passenger (Daily), Purna-Parli Vaijnath Passenger (Daily) and Chennai-Tirupati MEMU Service.

The SCR division also got eight Pass Through Mail/Express Trains. They are Ajni (Nagpur) – Lokmanya Tilak Terminus Express (Weekly) via Hingoli; Bikaner – Chennai AC Express (Weekly) Via Jaipur, Sawai Madhopur, Nagda, Bhopal, Nagpur; Gandhidham – Visakhapatnam Express (Weekly) Via Ahmedabad, Wardha, Ballarshah, Vijaywada; Howrah – Chennai AC Express (Bi-weekly) Via Bhadrak, Duvvada, Gudur; Kamakhya (Guwahati) – Bangalore AC Express (Weekly); Jabalpur – Yesvantpur Express (Weekly) Via Nagpur, Dharmavaram; Patliputra (Patna) – Bangalore Express (Weekly) Via Chheoki and Visakhapatnam – Kollam Express (Weekly).

As many as six orginating trains have been extended. They include 17005/17006 Hyderabad-Darbhanga Express to Raxaul after gauge conversion; 17011/17012 Hyderabad- Belampalli Express to Sirpur Kaghaznagar; 22107/22108 Mumbai CST-Latur Express to Hazoor Saheb Nanded; 57502/57503 Bodhan-Kamareddi Passenger to Mirzapalli; 67277/67278 Falaknuma-Bhongir MEMU to Jangaon and77676/77677 Miryalguda-Nadikudi DEMU to Piduguralla.

Two Pass Through Trains - 12577/12578 Darbhanga-Bangalore Express to Mysore and 12507/12508 Guwahati-Ernakulam Express to Thiruvananthapuram have got extension. The frequency of five originating trains has also been increased. They are 22615/22616 Coimbatore-Tirupati Express (3 to 4 days); 17213/17214 Narsapur – Nagarsol (Near Sainagar Shirdi) Express (2 to 7 days);  18509/18510 Visakhapatnam – Hazoor Saheb Nanded Express (2 to 3 days); 18309/18310 Sambalpur  – Hazoor Saheb Nanded Express (2 to 3 days) and 12751/12752 Secunderabad – Manuguru Express (3 to 7 days).

The frequency of two Pass Through Trains has also been increased. They are 12687/12688 Madurai – Dehradun/Chandigarh Express (1 to 2 days) and 22819/22820 Visakhapatnam – Lokmanya Tilak (T) Express (2 to 7 days).

Besides these measures, the Railway Minister has allocated Rs.124 crore towards Passenger Amenities, as against the revised grant of Rs 100 crore. for 2012-13. As much as Rs 281 crore. have been allotted towards construction of New Lines, which is at the same level of allotment in last year.


Related articles

Write a comment
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.