TRS, Cong bags two MLC seats each | Deccan Chronicle
Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 | Last Update : 05:07 PM IST
Fajar: 5.08 am 
Zohar: 12.13 pm 
Asar: 4.16 pm 
Maghrib: 5.59 pm  
Isha: 7.07 pm


You are here

TRS, Cong bags two MLC seats each

Agencies | 25th Feb 2013


Hyderabad: The Congress and Telangana Rashtra Samithi have won two seats each in the elections held for the State Legislative Council under Teachers and Graduates Constituencies. The results of two more seats are yet to be declared.

Congress candidate Gade Srinivasulu Naidu has been declared elected from the Srikakulam-Vizianagaram-Visakhapatnam Teachers' Constituency while Poola Ravinder of Congress has won from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Teachers Constituency. While Srinivasulu Naidu defeated his nearest rival G Simhadrappadu, Poola Ravindra secured 9,139 votes to win over A Warada Reddy of TRS

The Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Karimngar Teachers' Constituency has been won by Paturi Sudhakar Reddy of TRS. Similarly, K Swamy Goud of TRS won from the Graduates Cosntitunecy of Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Karimnagar. He secured a total of 48,470 votes.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission of India on Monday announced the schedule for 10 MLCs seats, to be elected by the MLAs. The notification will be issued on March 4; the last date of filing nominations will be March 11 and last date of withdrawal of candidature will be March 14. The election will be held on March 21and counting of votes will also take place on the same day.

The election for 10 seats has been necessitated following the expiry of term of MLCs on March 29. They are Ch Seetha Ramulu, Jalli Wilson, Laxmi Durgesh Prasad Kandula, S Indrasena Reddy, Bharathi Dhiravat, P Yadagiri, Sidda Raghava Rao, Ibrahim Bin Abdullah Masquati, Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy and Pulla Padmavathi.



Related articles

Write a comment
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.