And the loser award goes to... | Deccan Chronicle
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 | Last Update : 05:07 PM IST
Fajar: 5.08 am 
Zohar: 12.13 pm 
Asar: 4.16 pm 
Maghrib: 5.59 pm  
Isha: 7.07 pm


You are here

And the loser award goes to...

DC | Barkha Kumari | 27th Jan 2013

It’s that time of the year when the best of Bollywood is celebrated at  award ceremonies. And to balance things out, the worst of Hindi cinema is also acknowledged in a couple of ceremonies. This year, joining the likes of the Golden Kela Awards and The Ghanta Awards is the Filmfail Awards, due on February 20.

Filmfail is constituted by a group of Mumbai-based stand-up comedians called Shitzengiggles; some are actors themselves. Varun Thakur, who shared screen space with Shah Rukh Khan in Jab Tak Hain Jaan, says, “It’s all done in good humour. We don’t bear grudges against any star and don’t wish to be at their receiving end. They are nominated in the ‘worst category’ because they are ‘somebody’. Even worst has a value, which we want to celebrate.”

“We are just trying to plug stand-up comedy to Bollywood. It’s a language which every Indian understands. Plug a joke around Hindi films and its’ a win-win situation,” says the comedian who has Varun Grover (lyricist of Gangs of Wasseypur), Brij Bhakta, Aditi Mittal, Aadar Malik and Karan Talwar alongside in this venture.

The awards will also be pay-back of sorts for critics who have had to sit through “many atrocious films round the year as part of their job”. Some of the Filmfail awards are hilarious, like the Jaanta Hai Mera Baap Kaun Hai?  award which recognises the worst star son/ daughter/nephew/niece of the year. Though the results are based on an audience poll, the group feels that Jacky Bhagnani, son of producer Vashu Bhagnani, would be hands down winner for Ajab Ghazab Love. Meanwhile Student of the Year and Son of Sardaar, with 13 nominations each, are front runners across all the awards.

Nice Try!

The Nice Try!  award: FilmFail award for trying and failing miserably. Hrithik as a tough guy in Agneepath, Sunny Leon keeping her clothes on, in Jism-2 , Tusshar Kapoor taking his clothes off in Kya Kool Hain Hum-2 , Shirish Kunder for attempting a sci-fi in Joker.

What was that!?

The What was that!? award: The Filmfail award for most ridiculous scene. The ‘love quadrangle with Jesus’ in JTHJ was one nominee, while “a ghost using a landline to call up Bipasha Basu” in Raaz 3, was another.

Worst song

The Worst Song award: The Filmfail award for the worst and most irritating song. The nominees Ishq Wala Love from Student of the Year, Paw paw paw paw paw from Son of Sardaar, Fevicol from Dabangg-2, Chinta ta chita chita from Rowdy Rathore sum up the list.


Related articles

Write a comment
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.