Peddibhotla gets sahitya award for short story | Deccan Chronicle
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 | Last Update : 05:07 PM IST
Fajar: 5.08 am 
Zohar: 12.13 pm 
Asar: 4.16 pm 
Maghrib: 5.59 pm  
Isha: 7.07 pm


You are here

Peddibhotla gets sahitya award for short story

DC | 21st Dec 2012
Peddibhotla Subbaramaiah.
Peddibhotla Subbaramaiah.

New Delhi/Vijayawada: Peddibhotla Subbaramaiah’s short story collection Peddibhotia Subbaramaiah Kathalu (Vol. 1) has been selected for a Sahitya Akademi Award.

Expressing happiness about the award, the writer observed that the recognition would be good for other authors.

A recipient of many awards including the Ravi Sastry Smaraka Sahitya Nidhi, Gopichand Memorial, Appajyosyula Puraskar etc., Subbaramaiah’s two volumes have 80 stories that reflect the common man’s lives.

Subbaramaiah started writing in 1959

Peddibhotla Subbaramaiah, who has been selected for a Sahitya Akademi Award, started writing in 1959.

His first story Chakranemi was published in the weekly Andhra Patrika. He later wrote several stories and two novels for Bharati magazine.

Subbaramaiah served as a lecturer in Andhra Loyola College for 40 years and retired in December 1996.

The author, who has written more than 200 stories, believes that childhood education leaves an impact on the development of any person.

Sitting in the veranda of his house on Thursday, the writer expressed concern over the sprouting of concrete jungles in cities and lamented that people were missing an opportunity to enjoy nature and think freely in their busy lives.

Booker-nominated Jeet Thayil and Bengali novelist Subrata Mukhopadhyaya were among the 24 authors selected for this year’s Sahitya Akademi Awards, which was dominated by poets.
Twelve of the 24 awards went to works of poets, which included K. Sachitandandan (Malayalam — Marannu Vacha Vazhikal), late Bal Krishna “Bhaura” (Dogri — Tim-Tim Karde Tare) and Makhan Lal Kanwal (Kashmiri — Yath Aangnaz Manz).

Thayil, whose novel Narcopolis was shortlisted for a Booker, was selected for his poetry collection These Errors are Correct in the English category.

Twelve books of poetry, six short story collections, four novels and one each of autobiography and criticism were selected for the awards this year, two of them posthumously.

The awards were given to books first published between January 2008 and December 2010. It carries Rs 1 lakh cash, an engraved copper plaque and a shawl.

Among the poets, other winners are Guneswar Musahary (Bodo — Boro Khonthai), Chandrakant Devtale (Hindi — Pathar Fenk Raha Hoon), H.S. Shivaprakash (Kannada — Mabbina Haage Kabniveyassi), Kashinath Shamba Lolienkar (Konkani — Kavyasutra) and Darsan Buttar (Punjabi — Maha Kambani).

Aaidan Singh Bhatti (Rajasthani — Aankh Hinye Ra Hariyal Sapana), Ramji Thakkura (Sanskrit — Laghupadhyaprhbandhatrayi) and Krishna Kumar Toor (Urdu — Ghurfa-i-Ghalib) were the other poets who were selected for the award.

Assamese writer Chandana Goswami was selected for her novel Patkair Loare More Desh while Mukhopadhyaya was selected for his fiction Birasan. Other novelists were Jodha C. Sanasam (Manipuri — Mathou Kanba DNA) and D. Selvaraj (Tamil — Thol).

In Gujarati, Chandrakant Topiwala’s critical study, Gujarati Sakshibhasya, was selected for the award while in Maithili, Shefalika Verma’s autobiography Kist-Kist Jeewan won the award.

Apart from Subbaramaiah, works of five others won for short story collections. They were Jayant Pawar’s Marathi collection Phoenixchya Rakhetun Uthala Mor, Uday Thulung’s Ekantvas (Nepali), Gourahari Das’s Kanta O’ Anyanya Galpa (Odia), Gangadhar Hansda’s Banchaw Akan Goj Hor (Santali) and Late Indra Vaswani’s Miteea Khaan Miteea Taaeen (Sindi).





Related articles

Write a comment
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.